On seeing “Richard II Landing at Milford Haven”

“Richard  Landing at Milford Haven (After Shakespeare)” is a painting by Richard Hamilton, displayed at the John Soanes Museum in London. In 1399, Richard II landed at Milford Haven from Ireland, shortly before his surrender to Henry of Lancaster, afterwards Henry IV.

 

Your faith’s misplaced. I here disown

those expectations you have grown

that tried to make me more than man.

I cannot be but what I am.

I bear your crown. I am alone.

 

One can’t expect you to condone

me when this dereliction’s known.

I can’t fulfil all your demands.

Your faith’s misplaced.

 

Some care? Compassion? Never known:

always sought for – never shown.

I’ve done for you all that I can:

decisions brokered, breaking man

for reasons all to me unknown.

Your faith’s misplaced.

 

(c) Sir John Soanes Museum; Supplied by The Public Catalogue Foundation

Leave a comment